On Watching Recitals Online

1947
- - Please visit: Wichita Band Instrument Company - -

Monday next week (10/27/2014) will bring a “first” for me, in that the recital I am presenting jointly with Douglas Yeo will be streamed live. This has become more and more common at music schools in recent years.

Recitals are streamed in several ways; the present setup at Arizona State is through a YouTube channel dedicated to Katzin Concert Hall:

https://www.youtube.com/user/asukatzinconcerthall

When you go to the link there are a series of events visible on the page and you simply click on the one of interest. The list includes events that are upcoming and concerts that have already occurred.

The first recital I ever tried to watch online was a MM recital by a former student who was then at another school. At that time they used a “do it yourself” streaming option and, unfortunately, the setup on their end was wrong! As I could watch the recital but could not hear any sound at all.

The setup at ASU is more professional and I think is of a type used by a number of music schools at this time.

Ericson_Yeo_TTFThe program, which begins at 7:30 PM** Arizona Time (the same as PDT this time of year):

Wir eilen mit schwachen doch emsigen Schritten J.S. Bach (horn/trombone/piano)

Nigunim (Hassidic Tunes) Traditional, arr. Lev Kogan (horn/piano)

Drei leichte Stücke Paul Hindemith (trombone/piano)

Prayer from Jewish Life, No. 1 Ernest Bloch (trombone/piano)

Trios, op. 82 Anton Reicha (horn/trombone/tuba)

Table for Three Paul Ferguson (horn/trombone/piano)

The final work is a world premiere! So be sure to tune in if you want to see history being made, it is a wonderful new piece for horn, bass trombone, and piano, a combination that most surely more works should be written for.

To watch, again what you do look for our recital in the list at http://www.youtube.com/user/asukatzinconcerthall

The concert will stream on that URL at concert time and also be available for viewing for at least 24 hours after the recital. Join us!

UPDATE: The entire recital may be seen below:

**10:30 PM Eastern Time, 9:30 PM Central, 8:30 PM Mountain, 7:30 PM Pacific (all being daylight time for those time zones).

University of Horn Matters